WhatsApp is preparing to fulfill a long-standing demand from users. The Meta-owned messaging app is now working on introducing a ‘View Once’ feature for text messages, after images and videos, under which the message will be viewed only once and then automatically disappear.
WhatsApp introduced this facility for images and videos in August 2021 to keep users’ private information safe and not put unnecessary burden on the app’s memory. The image or video sent through this feature disappears from the chat once opened.
According to WABetaInfo, a website that monitors WhatsApp updates, the new beta version of the Android app has also added a View Once option for text messages. Through this, users will be able to send messages that the recipient will not be able to see again after reading them once.
This facility is being described as especially useful for sharing passwords, credit card details or other sensitive information. WhatsApp, while introducing this feature for photos and videos, had also said that it could be used to send private details, including Wi-Fi login information.
The app already has an option for ‘disappearing messages’, through which messages are automatically deleted after a certain period of time. However, the new view once feature will apply to a specific text message instead of the entire chat and will disappear only after the recipient opens it for the first time.
According to the report, such a message will not be able to be copied, forwarded or saved and the facility to take a screenshot of it will not be available. Currently, this feature has been introduced for beta users, but the company has not given a final date for when it will be available for general users.
