Unofficial results show PTI, PMLN leading in 4 constituencies each

October 14, 2018

ISLAMABAD: According to the Result Transmission System of the Election Commission of Pakistan, of the eleven National Assembly’s seats, PTI and PML-N are so far leading in four constituencies each. Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid-e-Azam is ahead in two constituencies of the National Assembly.


In Punjab, PML-N is leading in five provincial assembly constituencies and PTI in four. An independent candidate is also leading on one seat.


In Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, PTI is leading in seven constituencies, while Awami National Party is ahead in two constituencies.


PPP is leading in both constituencies of Sindh Assembly. Of the two seats of Balochistan, Balochistan National Party and an Independent candidate are leading on one seat each.


PML-N’s Shahid Khaqan Abbasi won the by-polls in NA-124 Lahore with 75012 votes, unofficial and unconfirmed results suggested. Abbasi was followed by PTI’s Ghulam Mohiuddin, who could secure 30115 votes. While PTI’s Samsam Bukhari won by-polls in PP-201 Sahiwal with 58280 votes, unofficial and unconfirmed results suggested. Bukhari was followed by PML-N’s Muhammad Tufail, who attained 51622 votes.


Meanwhile, PML-N’s Sardar Awais Leghari won the by-election in PP-292 by attaining 32845 votes, unofficial and unconfirmed results suggested. PTI’s Sardar Maqsood Laghari stood runner up with 21938 vote and PML-N’s Sardar Khan wins PK-3 by-polls with 16824 votes to his credit, according to unofficial and unconfirmed results. PTI’s Sajid Ali stood second in the run with 15911 votes. PTI’s Aqibullah Khan won by-election in PK-44 with 18676 votes, unofficial and unconfirmed results suggested. Khan was followed by ANP’s Ghulam Hassan, who secured 17067 votes.

On the other hand PTI’s Faisal Amin Khan won PK-97 by-election by bagging 18170 votes, unofficial and unconfirmed results suggested. Khan was followed by PPP’s Farhan Afzal Malik, who secured 7609 votes.



Polling was held in a peaceful environment across the country. Strict security measures were put in place and a large number of troops, rangers and police were deployed at polling stations and important places in areas where by-election was held.


The Election Commission had directed presiding officers to send election result to returning officers and the Commission through result transmission system after completing counting of votes.


The ECP asked the presiding officers to reach the office of returning officers if they face internet or any other problem in transmitting result through RTS. A high turnout of 83.5 percent has been recorded in overseas voting in the by-elections.


According to Election Commission, 6233 overseas Pakistanis out of 7364 registered voters used their right to franchise through i-voting. Overseas Pakistanis exercised their right to vote through i-voting for the first time.


Most of the seats on which by-polls were held on Sunday were vacated by those elected on more than one seat in the July 25 general elections, including Prime Minister Imran Khan who won in all the five NA constituencies he had contested.


The final list of candidates issued by the ECP showed a total of 370 candidates were in the run 120 for 11 NA seats (eight in Punjab, and one each in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Sindh and Islamabad) and 250 for 24 provincial assembly seats (11 in Punjab, nine in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and two each in Sindh and Balochistan). NNI