Shehbaz Sharif elected PML-N president unopposed

March 14, 2018

ISLAMABAD: Chief Minister Punjab and Interim PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif was elected unopposed as the president of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz here on Tuesday.

The election came in the Central General Council meeting of Pakistan Muslim League-N held at Convention Center Islamabad.

After being elected as PML-N president, Chief Minister Shehbaz Sharif in his address said that it is a matter of great honour that after being elected as acting party president by the central working committee of PML-N last week, he has now been formally elected as the PML-N president by general council of the party.

This moment is an important but difficult phase of my life and you can judge well that I have been asked to perform duties on the post of a revered personality, under the compulsion of the situation, to whom I have always looked for guidance and patronage in my whole political career.

He said that I as well as any other party worker can never think of replacing Nawaz Sharif. Nawaz Sharif was our leader yesterday; he remains to be our leader today and will continue to be our leader in the coming days.

He added that, I believe that it is luck of, not only the PML-N, but that of Pakistan and the people as well that they have been bestowed a leader like him. I believe that Nawaz Sharif is a politician and a leader who can be declared as the political inheritor of proud legacy of Quaid-e-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinnah.

He said that Nawaz Sharif rejected a five billion dollars U.S. aid proposal and prioritized national interest. He made Pakistan an atomic power and made the country’s defence impregnable by atomic explosions. He also developed motorways and introduced packages worth billions of rupees for farmers. He also rid the country of load-shedding and terrorism through invaluable sacrifices and cooperation of armed forces of Pakistan.

These are the important steps, due to which, the future historians will place Nawaz Sharif as the most seasoned and respected leader from every respect after the founding fathers of Pakistan.

PML-N Quaid Nawaz Sharif, Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, AJK Prime Minister Raja Farooq Haider, PML-N Chairman Senator Raja Zafar-ul-Haq, federal ministers, senior PML-N Leaders, members of executive committee as well as a large number of party workers attended the meeting. NNI/INP/Agencies