Quarter finals lineup confirmed

ICCThe quarter-finals line-up of the Cricket World Cup 2015 was confirmed after the West Indies defeated the UAE in Napier and Pakistan beat Ireland in Adelaide on the last day of the pool stage matches.

The results mean India has finished on top of Pool B, followed by South Africa (second), Pakistan (third) and West Indies (fourth). On Saturday, Pool A placing were confirmed with New Zealand claiming top spot, followed by Australia (second), Sri Lanka (third) and Bangladesh (fourth).

Sri Lanka will go head to head with South Africa in the first quarter-final in Sydney on 18 March, while defending champion India will square off against sub-continent neighbors Bangladesh in Melbourne on 19 March. Four-time former champion Australia will take on 1992 winner Pakistan in the third quarter-final on 20 March in Adelaide while the last quarter-final will be between New Zealand and the West Indies in Wellington on 21 March.

The first semi-final will be held in Eden Park, Auckland whereas the second will be held in Australia in Sydney cricket ground, Sydney. The Champion will be crowned on Sunday, March 29 at the Melbourne cricket ground.

A reserve day has been scheduled for each of the seven knock-out matches. If a quarter-final or semi-final is tied, abandoned or if the match is a no-result, then the team that finished in the higher position in the Pool stage shall progress.

About the Author