PML-N emerges as main gainer with 16 Senate seats

Logo on senatePPP-7, MQM-4, NP and PKMAP 3 each

ISLAMABAD/LAHORE/KARACHI/QUETTA: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) emerged as the leading party in the Senate elections by bagging 16 seats out of 37 from the Federal capital, Punjab, Balochistan and Sindh while results from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) are yet to come in due to repeated suspension of voting in the provincial assembly.

According to details, the PML-N won 16 seats, PPP-7, MQM-4, National Party, PKMAP-three each, BNP (Mengal) and JUI(F) one each while an independent candidate also became senator from Balochistan. PML-N and its allied parties in the province including national party and PKMPP won nine seats.

The biggest upset was in Balochistan where the PML-N central leader Sardar Yaqub Khan lost to independent candidate Yusuf Badeni.

In Sindh the Functional League and allied parties failed to make any upset against PPP. The Functional League and allied parties refused to accept the results accusing PPP of rigging. In Sindh, PPP and MQM earlier won two seats each unopposed.

The PML-N made a clean sweep in Punjab by bagging all the eleven seats.

Voting for the four FATA seats was suspended for an indefinite period by the Election Commission following the issuance of Presidential Ordinance which was strongly contested by the FATA MNAs.

Both the seats from Islamabad were won by PML-N candidates Iqbal Zafar Jhagra and Rahila Magsi with huge majority.

In Punjab, PML-N’s Mushahidullah Khan, Parvaiz Rashid, Chaudhry Tanwir, Saleem Zia, Lt General Rtd Abdul Qayyum, Ghaus Bakhsh Niazi, Nihal Hashmi, Raja Mohammad Zafarul Haq, Prof Sajid Mir, Najma Hameed and Aisha Raza won from general, technocrats and women seats.  PPP despite its tall claims could not get its candidate Nadeem Afzal Chan elected.

In Sindh, PPP’s Rehman Malik, Abdul Latif Ansari, Islamuddin Sheikh, Saleem Mandviwala, Gian Chand and MQM’s Mian Attiq and Khushbakht Shujaat were unofficially elected. Earlier MQM’s Nighat Mirza and Barrister Mohammad Ali Saif and PPP’s Sassi Palejo and Farooq H Naek were elected unopposed on technocrats and women seats.

Those elected as Senator from Balochistan were Naimatullah Zehri, Shahbaz Durrani, Kalsoom Parveen, Hasil Bizenjo, Mir Kabir Ahmad, Ashok Kumar, Dr Jehanzib Jamaldini, Yusuf Badeni, Mohammad Usman, Sardar Mohammad Azam, Gul Bushra, Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri.


About the Author