Parliamentary leaders back PM for formation of Judicial Commission

ISLAMABAD: Parliamentary leaders in the National Assembly at a meeting with Prime Minister Muhammad Nawaz Sharif at his National Assembly Chamber here Tuesday extended their support for forming Judicial Commission to investigate into alleged rigging in 2013 elections.

The Prime Minister took the leaders into confidence about the process of negotiations with PTI. The matter of forming a judicial commission was deliberated upon in detail and decided to go ahead with the formation of judicial commission.

Some parties raised constitutional and legal reservations but decided to support the government on this matter in the interest of democracy and political stability.

The Prime Minister said PML-N wants to take all political forces together on matters of national importance. He said that he had written a letter for forming a judicial commission on 13th August 2014.

Minister for Finance, Mr. Ishaq Dar briefed the meeting about the details of negotiations.

The Prime Minister said all the parties should work together for the country’s progress and welfare of the people.

The Prime Minister said we want to remove misgivings among the political parties through dialogue and fully concentrate on resolving the challenges being faced by Pakistan which includes eradicating terrorism and extremism, meeting energy shortage and putting the country’s economy on the path of progress creating a safe, peaceful, tolerant and prosperous society.

Participants of the meeting congratulated the Prime Minister and the negotiating team on their success.

Syed Khursheed Shah said now that the government has agreed to the formation of Judicial Commission, PTI should return to the National Assembly.

The political leaders appreciated that political solution to the problem was reached.

Participants of the meeting included: Syed Khursheed Ahmad Shah, Leader of the Opposition; Dr. Muhammad Farooq Sattar, MQM; Mr. Akram Khan Durrani, Minister for Housing; Pir Sadruddin Shah, PML (F); Mr. Mehmood Khan Achakzai, PKMAP; Mr. Siraj ul Haq, Amir JI; Sahibzada Tariqullah, JI; Haji Ghulam Ahmad Bilour, ANP; Mr. Muhammad Ijaz Ul Haq, PML (Z); Mr. Aftab Ahmed Khan Sherpao, QWP; Dr. Ghazi Gulab Jamal, FATA. Ch. Aitzaz Ahsan, Leader of the Opposition in Senate; Mir Hasil Khan Bizenjo, National Party; Mr. A. Rehman Malik, Senator, PPP; Mrs. Kalsoom Parveen, Senator, PML(N).

Mr. Muhammad Ishaq Dar, Minister for Finance; Federal Minister for Information, Mr. Pervaiz Rasheed; Khawaja Saad Rafique, Minister for Railways; Lt Gen (R) Abdul Qadir Baloch, Minister for SAFRON and Minister of State for Information Technology, Ms. Anusha Rahman; Special Assistants to the PM, Khawaja Zaheer, Mr. Ushtar Ausaf and Barrister Zafrullah, Mr. Zahid Hamid, MNA, Dr. Asif Kirmani, Political Secretary to the PM as well as Attorney General also attended the meeting.


About the Author