Opposition parties stage protest outside ECP office

August 8, 2018

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Alliance for Free and Fair Elections (PAFFE), an amalgam of 11 political parties formed against Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), staged protest outside Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) office, against alleged rigging in General Elections 2018.

Leaders of opposition parties including Ahsan Iqbal, Pervez Rasheed, Zahid Hamid, Afrasyab Khattak, Zahid Khan, Khawaja Asif, Mushahidullah Khan, Rashid Mehmood Somro, Raja Pervez Ashraf, Sherry Rehman, Khursheed Shah, Raja Zafarul Haq, Senator Chaudhry Tanveer, Nehal Hashmi, Mushahid Hussain, Abdul Ghafoor Hyderi, Usman Kakar, Zahid Khan, Mehmood Achakzai and Bushra Gohar are participated in the protest.

Startlingly, the heads of Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) Shehbaz Sharif and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) Bilawal Bhutto did not join the protest rally.

During the same rally, PPP leader Khurshid Shah opted quite parallel stance as he stated to provide Imran Khan ample space to run government. The protesters marched from Parliament House to ECP office and are demonstrating against the alleged poll rigging. Intense slogans were being raised against the commission.

Strict security measures were also in place as heavy contingent of police and Frontier Corps (FC) officials were deployed around ECP.

The component parties of the PAFFE have directed all their winners, ticket-holders in election 2018 and senators to participate in protest demonstration. Jamiat Ulema-e Islam (F) Chief Fazlur Rehman on Wednesday stated that they would not accept ‘fake prime minister [Imran Khan]’ at any cost while demanding resignations from officials of Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) over their failure to hold transparent elections.

He was addressing protest rally outside ECP headquarters. “Today, Pakistan’s political leadership is on the same page. The reins of country are being handed over to an ineligible candidate”, regretted Rehman. The eleven-party alliance is consists of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), Awami National Party (ANP), Qaumi Watan Party (QWP), Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP), National Party (NP) and the Muttahida Majlis-i-Amal (MMA) — an alliance of five religio-political parties including Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam (JUI-F) and Jamaat-i-Islami (JI). NNI