Govt, Opposition finalise three names for CEC

DNA03-46ISLAMABAD: The government and the opposition have finalized three names for the appointment of new Chief Election Commissioner, which include Justice Sardar Muhammad Raza, the chief justice of Federal Shariat Court, Justice (Retired) Tariq Pervez and Justice (Retired) Tanveer Ahmad Khan.
This was announced at a joint media talk by Leader of the Opposition in the National Assembly Khurshid Shah and Finance Minister Ishaq Dar after completing their consultaions in Islamabad on Wednesday. The names of finalized candidates have been sent to Speaker National Assembly for onwward submission to Parliamentary Committee on Appointment of Chief Election Commissioner.
Ishaq Dar expressed the confidence that the process of appointement of Chief Election Commissioner will be completed by 5th of December. He said in this regard extensive consultations were held with all opposition parties and government allies including PTI, MQM, ANP and JUI. Ishaq Dar added that the Speaker National Assembly has convened the meeting of the Parliamentary Committee on the Appointment of CEC tomorrow at 11:00 am.
For his part, Khurshid Shah said that it is for the first time in the history of the country that the government and the opposition have agreed on a single list to be submitted to the National Assembly Parliamentary Committee for finalization of the name of the CEC. He said this shows the political maturity of the political leadership. DNA

About the Author