Govt, opposition agree on 12 member ToR committee to probe Panama Papers

ISLAMABAD: The federal government and the opposition on Wednesday agreed to form a 12 member committee in order to draft joint terms of reference (ToR) for an inquiry commission, which would probe Panama papers.

“Government will name six legislators while the opposition will name another six to form the parliamentary committee, a motion will be passed on Thursday in the assembly to legalise the committee’s status,” Information Minister Pervaiz Rasheed told media after meeting opposition members.

Rasheed added that the members of the committee can be named from both the houses of parliament, both the government and opposition will decide the names today after consultation.

Answering a question, he said that the committee will suggest measures to investigate allegations related to Panama papers and to develop a system which paves way to probe those involved in receiving kick backs, illegal loan-write offs.

Rasheed said that the committee will present its report in two weeks.

It is pertinent to note here that Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, during his speech in National Assembly on Monday, had suggested forming a joint committee to draft the terms of reference (ToRs) for establishing the inquiry commission to probe allegations related to Panama Papers revelations.

Exit mobile version