Election commission clears 8 PPP candidates to contest senate elections

KARACHI: Nomination papers of eight Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) candidates were accepted on Thursday to contest the upcoming senate elections, out of the 28 received by the Provincial Election Commission (ECP) in Sindh.

PPP’s Rehman Malik, Saleem Mandviwala, Engineer Gianchand, Farooq H Naek and Sassui Palijo are among the candidates who are now entitled to contest

senate election.

The provincial election commission started the scrutiny process of nomination papers  of candidates contesting the upcoming senate election and the process will go on till Friday(tomorrow).

Speaking to a private TV channel, the provincial election commissioner SM

Tariq Qadri said, “”Today, is the first day and this process will continue

till Friday evening.”

According to ECP’s record, approximately 13 forms have been filed by

candidates belonging to PPP, 12 by those of the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM), two by Pakistan Muslim League-Functional (PML-F) and one by Pakistan Muslim League- Nawaz (PML-N).

MQM has given tickets to Barrister Farough Nasim, Mian Ateeq, Babar Ghauri and Nighat Khatoon.  Simialrly, PML-F has given the party ticket to

Imamuddin Shauqeen.

Once the scrutiny is over, the candidate can file appeals against the

rejection of nomination between February 23 and February 24. The dates for

the disposal of the appeal have been fixed from February 26 to February 27.

The final date for the withdrawal of candidature is February 28 and the

final candidate list will be published on the same day, allowing for polling

to take place on March 5.


About the Author