Deprecated: noindex is deprecated since version 5.7.0! Use wp_robots_noindex() instead. in /home/dailythepatriot/public_html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 4861

Arrest warrants issued; attack on PTV, Parliament

ISLAMABAD: An anti-terrorism court (ATC) in Islamabad on Wednesday issued non-bailable arrest warrants for Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan and Pakistan Awami Tehreek (PAT) chief Dr Tahirul Qadri,  reported.

The arrest warrants were issued for attacking the Pakistan Television (PTV) building and Parliament. The court also issued arrest warrants for Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Chief Minister Pervez Khattak, PTI Vice-Chairman Shah Mehmood Qureshi, PTI leader Asad Umar and PAT leader Raheeq Abbasi.

A case was registered against the above mentioned at secretariat police station in Islamabad.

In September, charged protesters of PTI and PAT broke into the PTV headquarters, a state-owned media enterprise.

As soon as angry protesters entered the news headquarters of the state-owned television channel, they took over the programming control room and transmission was taken off air temporarily. It was later restored after the army stepped in to vacate the building.

The protesters damaged furniture and television equipment during the rampage.

They also took away rare pictures, food items from canteen and even the sound system from the building’s mosque.

Following the attack on PTV, the federal government termed it an act of “aggression and violence”.

The government had said that action would be taken in accordance with the law against those responsible for the attack.

Exit mobile version