12 districts of Punjab declared sensitive during Muharram


LAHORE: As many as 12 districts of Punjab have been declared sensitive during the month of Muharram and at least 2 lakh 658 personnel will perform their duties across the province on the occasion of Ashura.

Briefing the media at the Central Police Office, Inspector General (IG) Punjab Mushtaq Sukhera said that the districts declared sensitive include Lahore, Rawalpindi, Jhang, Rahim Yar Khan, Gujranwala, Faisalabad, Bhakkar, Multan, Dera Ghazi Khan, Bahawalnagar, Chakwal and Pakpattan.

A central control room has been established at the central police office to monitor live the processions carried out from these districts. The control room will be supervised directly by the IG.

As per the code of conduct during the month, the movement of as many as 1158 clerics of various schools of thought will be monitored whereas orders of censoring as many as 641 will be implemented.

At least 30 have already been arrested for violating the law while cases have been registered against another 75. Agencies

About the Author