Opposition candidates Sanjrani, Mandviwalla take Senate’s top slots

March 12, 2018

ISLAMABAD: Independent candidate from Balochistan, backed by joint opposition Sadiq Sanjrani won Senate election for chairmanship with as many as 57 votes against 46 of ruling party s candidate on Monday.

The Presiding Officer Sardar Muhammad Yaqoob made the announcement following which supporters of winning candidate thumped the desk.

Polling had taken place via secret ballot. The counting was held shortly after the final vote was cast, with a nominee of each candidate overseeing the process. The margin of victory was a surprise to many, with observers having predicted a much closer race than an 11-vote gap.

Presiding Officer Sardar Muhammad Yaqoob Nasir administrated the oath to the new elected Chairman Senate Sadiq Sanjrani.  Soon after Sanjrani was formally announced as elected Chairman of the Senate, he was immediately sworn in and he began proceedings for the election of the deputy chairman.

Senator Sadiq Sanjrani had been backed by the joint opposition, including the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P), Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) and independents from Balochistan and the Federally Administered Tribal Areas (Fata).

On the other hand, PML-N veteran Raja Zafarul Haq had been nominated by the ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz and supported by its coalition partners.

The election for the deputy chairman handed the opposition its second victory for the day, with PPP Senator Saleem Mandviwalla elected to the seat with 54 votes against the PML-N backed Usman Khan Kakar of the Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party, who secured 44 votes. The MQM’s five senators abstained from the deputy chairman’s election.

The announcement of the deputy chairman’s election was similarly preceded by jeering from ruling party representatives and cheers from PPP workers.

Earlier in the day, 51 newly elected senators took oath in a ceremony held in Islamabad. Presiding Officer Yaqoob Nasar administered the oath for the senators elected via polls held on March 3. Senators were then invited to sign the member rolls. Those newly elected Senators who took the oath included Hafiz Abdul Kareem, Ms. Abida Muhammad Azeem, Ahmed Khan, Anwer Lal Dean, Anwar ul Haq Kakar, Dr. Asif Kirmani, Behara Mand, Dilawar Khan, Faisal javed, Fida Muhammad, Maulvi Faiz Muhammad, Haroon Akhter Khan, Hidayat Ullah, Hilal-ur-Rehman, Imam Uddin Shoqeen, Kamran Micheal, Khuda Babar, Kisho Bai, Rana Mehmud ul Hassan, Rana Maqbool Ahmed, Mehar Taj Rooghani, Mirza Muhammad Afridi, Ch. Muhammad Sarwar, Maula Bux Chandio, Muhammad Akram, Syed Muhammad Ali Shah Jamot, Muhammad Asad Ali Khan Junejo, Muhammad Ayub, Muhammad Azam Khan Swati, Faroogh Naseem, Syed Muhammad Sabir Shah, Sadiq Sinjrani, Sardar Muhammad Shafique Tareen, Tahir Bizenjo, Talha Mehmood, Musadiq Masood Malik, Mushahid Hussain Syed, Mushtaq Ahmed, Mustafa Nawaz Khokhar, Muzaffar Hussain Shah, Naseeb Ullah Bazai, Nuzhat Sadiq, Qurat ul Ain Mari, Mian Raza Rabbani, Rubina Khalid, Rukhsana Zubairi, Saadia Abbasi, Sana Jamali, Shaheen Khalid Butt, Shamim Afridi and Dr. Sikandar Mindhro.

Sanjrani was born on April 14, 1978 in Balochistan’s Nok Kundi town in Chagai district.   The senator received his primary education from Nok Kundi and later attended the Balochistan University from where he obtained his Master’s degree in Arts.

Sanjrani’s father, Khan Mohammad Asif Sanjrani, is a tribal leader and a member of Chagai’s District Council.

The senator is the eldest of five brothers. His brother Aijaz Sanjrani was the adviser to the revenue department in this government in the tenure of Sanaullah Zehri as chief minister. He continued to serve on the position after the incumbent chief minister took office. Another brother of the senator, Muhammad Razik Sanjrani, has served as the managing director of the Saindak Copper Gold Project. In 1998, Sanjrani was appointed as the then-prime minister Nawaz Sharif’s coordinator. NNI/INP/Agencies