Abdul Qudoos Bizenjo takes oath as Balochistan chief minister

January 13, 2018

QUETTA: Abdul Qudoos Bizenjo on Saturday took oath as the Chief Minister of Balochistan after Sanaullah Zehri stepped down ahead of a no-confidence motion against him.

During a session of the Balochistan Assembly Saturday, Speaker Raheela Hameed Durrani made the official announcement of electing Bizenjo as the province’s chief minister.

Speaking on the floor of the assembly, Bizenjo thanked all the lawmakers who had supported him.

The election took place amid beefed up security in and around the assembly building.

The Balochistan Assembly on Saturday elected Abdul Qudoos Bizenjo as the new chief minister of the province, days after former chief minister Sanaullah Zehri stepped down ahead of a no-confidence motion against him.

The contest was held between Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid candidate Bizenjo, who secured 41 out of the total 51 votes casted, and Pashtunkhuwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP) member Agha Syed Liaqat Ali , who bagged 13 votes.

Bizenjo is the third chief minister of the province in four-and-a-half years.

Another PkMap candidate member Abdul Rahim Ziyaratwal, who had also filed his nominations, had withdrawn from the race. Bizenjo belongs to the troubled Awaran district of Balochistan and was elected on a PML-Q ticket during general elections 2013. He won the seat, obtaining only 544 of the 57,666 registered votes in the constituency as turnout was an abysmal 1.18 per cent since the separatists had called for a boycott of the elections.

PML N, Q nominate Quddus Bizenjo  was born in Awaran on January 1, 1974, and contested elections for the first time in 2002. He was elected from the PB-41 constituency. The Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid candidate remained Deputy Speaker from 2013-15.